Rigby Books



The Rigby PM Series includes popular and well-loved recurring characters like Baby Bear, Ben, Sally, Pickles, and more!

A series of meticulously leveled fiction and nonfiction texts use recurring characters and authentic story lines that ignite student interest while systematically building high-frequency words and reading skills.

Rigby PM Books are research-based and classroom-proven.

  • The Rigby PM Family features more than 950 fiction and nonfiction titles in 30 levels.
  • A low ratio of 1:20 new word introductions provides systematic inclusion of high frequency words for young readers.
  • Steady growth of sentence structure scaffolds text complexity for incremental success.
  • Meaningful stories with a clear climax and resolution hook children from the start.
  • Repetition and review of high-frequency words assists readers in building automaticity and fluency.


A Closer Look at The Rigby PM Family


PM Collection

Original series
Levels Orange-Sapphire
Includes chapter books and tales and plays


PM Collection Platinum Edition

Original series with a fresh new look
Levels Magenta-Green
Updated look and feel for your original favorites


PM Plus

More titles at all levels
Levels Magenta-Sapphire
Additional books in all levels from magenta through sapphire


PM Stars

Feature everyone’s favorite recurring characters
Levels Magenta-Green
Recurring characters provide a foundation of background knowledge and build anticipation of the next book in a series


PM Math Readers

Explore the math world
Levels Red-Green
Simultaneously supports literacy and sequential math instruction with math skills based on NCTM standards


PM Stars Bridge Books

Introduction to the Chapter Book
Levels Orange-Silver
Each book in this series has four chapters that build a clear structure and story line, all featuring beloved recurring PM characters

 photo stories

PM Photo Stories

Show real photos in every book
Levels Magenta-Green
Real photographs with realistic stories help children make connections to their daily lives


PM Science Readers

Explore the science world
Levels Red-Green
Integrates literacy and science with content based on national science standards